Multi-Tasking

Dear Sarah,

I am super excited about your asparagus crop! I know that gardening in the spring can chase away the winter doldrums like nothing else can.

Thanks for the encouragement about my goals. I tend to be an “over-committer” and an “under-achiever” when it comes to goal setting. The perfectionist nature in me wants to do EVERYTHING right NOW and perfectly.

The reality, as I am learning it, is that changing my life and health is more of a slow and steady process.

My new formula is:

Small goals seen to fruition over long amounts of time  = PROGRESS

I was very tempted to write “= SUCCESS “ , but thought better of it. I am not sure if the word success indicates that there is an end to this getting healthy process. I think there may be a “PHASE 2 “ to my plan which leads to the STAYING healthy part of the program.

Truthfully, I’m not 100% clear on that. Seeing as this will be my first time getting there.

I did, however, complete most of my homework assignments. I took my measurements (yes… even the “redwood” thigh measurement), tracked my weight by weighing in at Weight Watchers, and developed a fitness plan. I even wrote a page of slight non-sense in my journal.

I’ve noticed that I am getting slightly anxious about my increasing need to multi-task lately. Balancing my 2 jobs, my family, and my health can be a slightly  precarious dance of keeping all the balls in the air with equal importance and not letting any one of them drop. This is why I am trying to focus on my goals of developing a fitness and eating plan that will be rigid enough to keep me accountable, yet flexible enough to bend in the times of the unforeseen. All suggestions are WELCOME!

I am back to my lunch, my messy desk, and my computer. Multi-tasking at its best.

~ E

P.S. I lost 3.2 lbs this week!! 

2 responses

  1. Hi there Erin!

    I am an uber multitasker as well (3 jobs much?) and a perfectionist like you! I would say the best way to keep all the balls in the air is to schedule yourself almost obsessively (my planner is more important to me than my car) and to make sure to actually SCHEDULE down time. Super important. Hope that helps? 🙂

  2. great job ladies!! I find planning and tracking meals and excercise has really helped me as well. Erin–looking forward to our next Y-Fit class. Marie

Leave a Reply

