Brownie/Cookie Hybrid

Dear Erin,

I know I still owe you a post about playlists. Its coming.
I am happy the second job is starting out well for you.
I am so jealous of your gardening yesterday. Because it was gross here, and it would have been so cool to be outside.
I LOVE that picture of your baby in the garden!! Think if you send him up here, the novelty of being in RI would be enough to convince him to weed again?

This post is in honor of your fast food eating. I think you will enjoy it.
Sorry about the title.  It even sounds good. And it is. My aunt makes these really cool treats. They are kind of like a brownie, baked in a muffin tin, with a chocolate chip cookie baked on top.  Not really your every day snack, but DAMN, they are tasty.  She recently made a batch and sent one to me via my sister.

As you know, I’m not really on any kind of a “deprivation” diet. Just trying to stick mostly to the healthy stuff, and counting all my calories.

Well, when I looked at that brownie/cookie, I knew I had to have some.  I also knew I didn’t know how many calories it was, but I still had 545 calories left to eat for the day, and that was before I even visited the gym.  SO, I ate half of the treat.  Actually, I savored half of it, in tiny bites, and it WAS really tasty. I put the other half away for later, and decided to have a plain salad for dinner after the gym, and go on with my day.

About half an hour later, a funny thing happened.  I got the WORST heartburn EVER. I am not someone prone to heartburn (luckily for me, since a lot of my family is), and at first I didn’t even realize what was going on.  But as I walked the treadmill, I paid for that brownie for the first 35 minutes of my 45 minute walk.

Its weird how even after a short period of time, things your body used to be fine with get rejected.  Mine is like that about soda now too.  Some things just aren’t worth it. I hope my body continues to remind me of that. I threw the other half of the brownie/cookie out when I got home.

~S

PS I’m not getting super righteous about clean eating – I had a five guys burger for dinner one night this week. After being pretty exclusively vegetarian and completely low fat for the whole week, it was great. (I just counted the calories.)

Leave a Reply

